Free résumé and job search workshops now on schedule for SSCC

press release:
South Seattle Community College’s WorkSource Center is partnering with King County Library to offer résumé and job search workshops at local libraries. The workshops are free but seating is limited.

Branch locations and directions to branch can be found at http://www.kcls.org/locations/index.cfm

The New Job Search in the New Economy
In this workshop, you will learn how to shift your approach to match the current environment and smooth your path to finding employment. Topics covered include adjusting to the reality of the contemporary labor market, developing a work plan for a successful job search, networking, fundamentals of preparing a resume, where to find free quality career counseling, information on the top paying professions, acing the job interview, and where to find other job search resources
Library Date Time
Renton Thursday, April 26 7 pm
Maple Valley Tuesday, May 1 7 pm
Des Moines Wednesday, May 16 7 pm
Vashon Saturday, June 2 1 pm
White Center Thursday, June 5 7 pm
Woodinville Wednesday, June 6 7 pm
Boulevard Park Thursday, June 7 7 pm

Effective Résumés for the New Job Search
This hands-on workshop focuses on developing a resume that will get past the “10 second screen.” Discover the keys to a successful resume and learn what employers are looking for.

Library Date Time
Renton Highlands Monday, April 16 7 pm
Burien Thursday, May 3 7 pm
Kent Monday, May 7 7 pm
Covington Tuesday, May 8 7 pm
Newport Way Tuesday, May 15 7 pm
Des Moines Saturday, May 19 2 pm
Lake Hills Tuesday, June 5 7 pm
White Center Tuesday, June 12 7 pm
Woodinville Wednesday, June 13 7 pm

Effective Networking for Employment
Participants will learn how to take their job goal and develop a comprehensive approach to professional networking. Topics include myths of networking, developing a network “system”, the 4 core elements of networking information exchange, commonalties, and relationships.

Library Date Time
Fairwood Thursday, April 19 7 pm
Boulevard Park Thursday, June 14 7 pm
Woodinville Tuesday, June 26 7 pm

Mid–Life Career Changing in the New Economy
This course is designed to help participants analyze and understand the problem of “Ageism,” how age discrimination affects their job search and most importantly what they can do to empower themselves and find meaningful work in this difficult job market. Along with specific focus on job search skills and resources, there will be a special emphasis on “mid-life career changes” and “technology as a job search tool.”

Library Date Time
Burien Tuesday, April 17 7 pm
Kent Monday, April 30 7 pm
Vashon Saturday, June 2 2:15 pm
Maple Valley Tuesday, June 5 7 pm
Fairwood Tuesday, May 1 7 pm
Shoreline Wednesday, May 9 7 pm
Lake Hills Tuesday, May 15 7 pm
Issaquah Tuesday, June 12 7 pm
Boulevard Park Tuesday, June 26 7 pm
Woodinville Wednesday, June 27 7 pm

Conducting Effective Interview Conversations in the New Economy
Job Interviews in the New Economy require preparation, presentation and passion. This Interviewing Workshop is designed to help you prepare and perform well in any job interview. The information here will help you develop your “Brand” and be prepared to have a successful conversation with an employer. Specific focus will be spent on successfully answering behavioral based questions, appropriately connecting your values with the company culture and employing marketing skills such as your "30 second elevator speech" to make a great first impression.

Library Date Time
North Bend Tuesday, April 10 7 pm
Kent Monday, April 23 7 pm
Covington Thursday, May 10 7 pm
Shoreline Thursday, May 17 7 pm
Newport Way Tuesday, May 22 7 pm
Bothell Saturday, May 26 2 pm
Renton Thursday, May 31 7 pm
Des Moines Saturday, June 9 2 pm
Issaquah Tuesday, June 19 7 pm
White Center Tuesday, June 19 7 pm
Woodinville Wednesday, June 20 7 pm
Federal Way Thursday, June 21 7:30 pm

For additional information and registration, contact WorkSource Affiliate South Seattle Community College, (206) 934-5304, www.southseattle.edu.

Reasonable accommodations for individuals with disabilities are available. Please contact the library prior to the event if you require accommodation.

We encourage our readers to comment. No registration is required. We ask that you keep your comments free of profanity and keep them civil. They are moderated and objectionable comments will be removed.