Seattle Symphony presenting FREE community concert at Sealth Feb. 26

press release
The Seattle Symphony will perform a free Community Concert this month as, part of the Orchestra’s ongoing commitment to provide free opportunities for West Seattle to experience the transformational and inspiring impact of live music. The program, while sure to delight symphony fans of all ages, should have special appeal to youngsters.

The evening concert will take place at West Seattle’s Chief Sealth International High School, 2600 S.W. Thistle St. at 7:30 p.m. on February 26. Principal routes to reach the school: head South on 35th Ave. S.W. and turn left at S.W. Thistle, or South on Delridge Way S.W. with turn right at S.W. Thistle. Ample parking is available onsite. Admission to the Community Concert is free and tickets are not required.

Assistant Conductor Stilian Kirov will lead the Orchestra in a charming program of 19th- and 20th-century masterworks, including Béla Bartók’s Rumanian Folk Dances for Orchestra; Maurice Ravel’s Le tombeau de Couperin; and Johannes Brahms’ popular Hungarian Dances Nos. 5 & 6.

Talented 16-year-old violinist Amelia Sie, who hails from Bellevue, Wash., will also perform the first movement of Sergey Prokofiev’s virtuosic Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor.

For the seventh time, the free Community Concert is hosted by Kiwanis of West Seattle and presented as part of the Seattle Symphony’s Community Connections program, which is partially supported with funding from the Seattle Office of Arts & Cultural Affairs, 4Culture and ArtsWA. Special thanks to The Bank of America for its corporate support of Seattle Symphony community programs.

Stilian Kirov, conductor
Amelia Sie, violin
Seattle Symphony

Rumanian Folk Dances for Orchestra

Allegro moderato from Violin Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 63
Amelia Sie, violin

Le tombeau de Couperin

JOHANNES BRAHMS / orch. by Albert Parlow
Hungarian Dance No. 5 in G minor

JOHANNES BRAHMS / orch. by Albert Parlow
Hungarian Dance No. 6 in D major

We encourage our readers to comment. No registration is required. We ask that you keep your comments free of profanity and keep them civil. They are moderated and objectionable comments will be removed.