Holly Brown
A wide range of fruits and vegetables are at their peak in Spring and there are specific techniques to not only prepare them but preserve them for maximum flavor and freshness.

How to select, store and serve what’s fresh for spring

By Holly Brown

As Spring peaks, produce choices abound! Fruits and veggies can (and should) be incorporated in everything from appetizers, to pasta dishes, seafood preparations, tasty twists on salads, and desserts.

While many fruits and vegetables are available year round, fresh in season means you can buy locally, and enjoy ingredients at their peak of flavor. Here’s what’s fresh in season this month, and what you can do with pretty produce to brighten and lighten your menus!

Artichokes: In peak season Mar – May
Look for firm, heavy, artichokes that are green with leaves tightly closed. Avoid chokes that have browned or split leaves. Fresh artichokes can be refrigerated in a plastic bag for up to five days. When ready to cook, cut stems completely off, so artichoke can sit up without tilting over. Cut prickly tips off with scissors.

Arugula: In peak season April – June
Arugula’s peppery flavor comes from plants grown rapidly in cool climates and harvested young. Arugula should be bright green and not wilted. Wrap arugula tightly in a plastic bag and refrigerate for no more than two days.

Asparagus: In peak season Feb – Jun
Slightly acidic and fibrous, the best asparagus has tightly closed tips, and no flowering. Thickness is a matter of taste. Asparagus is ideally prepared the same day it's purchased. Prolong freshness in the refrigerator by wrapping the bottoms of the stalks in a damp paper towel and placing them in a paper bag. Store in a crisper, or stand the bundled stalks in a bowl with about an inch of water.

Berries: In peak season May- Aug
Berries are full of antioxidants, and easy to eat. No pits or peeling required. They also add colorful beauty to any dish. The best berries are firm. Always check the container bottom for stains or mold before you buy. Store in the refrigerator in the original container up to five days. When you're ready to use them, rinse berries under cold water; drain and pat dry.

New Potatoes: In peak season Mar-Jul
New potatoes are picked before their sugars have converted to starch, so they’re crisp and waxy and high in moisture. They also have thin skins, making them great for cooking and eating unpeeled. New potatoes should be firm, smooth, and free of cracks or soft brown spots. Choose potatoes of similar size so they cook evenly. Potatoes should not be refrigerated. Keep them in a cool, dark place and use within a week or so of buying.

Spinach: In peak season April – Jun
Spinach is rich in Vitamins A, C, K, folate, and antioxidants. Baby spinach is great for salads. Select spinach with dark leaves and a fresh smell. Refrigerate spinach for up to 3 days wrapped in slightly damp paper towels in a plastic bag. Before using, swish in a bowl of cold water until no grit is present. Dry in a salad spinner.

Zucchini: In peak season May-Jul
Look for zucchini that’s firm and heavy for its size. Skin should be brightly colored and blemish-free. Smaller squash are tenderer than large ones and have thinner skins. Look for squash that are less than eight inches long. Refrigerate in a plastic bag for up to four days. Don’t wash until ready to use.

Mix and match recipes from our Simply Spring Menu to create a yummy dinner party at home. Then invite some friends over to enjoy it with you! These Spring inspired ideas will keep your party fresh and bright!

Appetizers
Endive with Raspberries, Mint and Mascarpone http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/endive-with-raspberries-mint-mascarpone/

Stuffed and Seasoned Artichokes http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/seasoned-artichokes-an-elegant-appetizer/

Spinach, Chevre, and Pine Nut Stuffed Phyllo Rolls http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/spinach-chevre-pine-nut-wrapped-phyllo-...

Bacon and New Potato Bites http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/bacon-potato-bites/

Side Dishes

Zucchini Tart with Goat Chese http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/zucchini-tart-with-goat-cheese/

Parmesan and Panko Encrusted Asparagus http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/parmesan-panko-encrusted-asparagus/

Main Dishes

Fettuccini Alfredo with Asparagus and Prosciutto http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/fettuccini-alfredo/

Arugula Pesto and Prawns http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/arugula-pesto-pasta-and-prawns-recipe-2/

Desserts

Triple Chocolate Raspberry Cake http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/triple-chocolate-raspberry-cake-recipe-2/

Puffed Pastry Triangles with Nutella and Strawberries http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/puffed-pastry-triangles-with-nutella-st...

Cheers! Holly Brown
Publisher, Foodie, WebTV Host of www.TheBrownLounge.com

We encourage our readers to comment. No registration is required. We ask that you keep your comments free of profanity and keep them civil. They are moderated and objectionable comments will be removed.