West Seattle's Baleto named Metro League Volleyball MVP

By Tim Clinton

Eastyn Baleto of West Seattle topped the selections for the Metro League Sound Division all-star volleyball team this year, reeling in the Most Valuable Player award.

Baleto, a senior outside hitter, was also named to the Sound Division first team along with junior teammate Aspen Knowles, who is also an outside hitter.

Chief Sealth junior Lorna Sailiai captured first team honors as a setter.

The Sound Division second team included Chief Sealth senior outside hitter Nicole Carter, Chief Sealth junior middle blocker Olivia Boyd and West Seattle senior defensive specialist Mackenzie Harrison.

Making the honorable mention list were Chief Sealth players Sophie Boyd and Jackie Andrade and West Seattle's Gabby Sarver and Lexi Ioane.

Outside the West Seattle/White Center area, Ave Seni of Cleveland and Steve Endsley of Ingraham split the Coach of the Year award and Nathan Hale won the Sportsmanship Award.

Other first team picks were Cleveland senior outside hitter Trieste Tialavea, Nathan Hale senior setter Charlotte Hammer, Rainier Beach senior Nadine Middlebrooks, Ingraham senior middle blocker Mary Harper and Franklin senior libero Annie Chan.

Also on the second team were Franklin junior outside hitter Linh Duong, Cleveland senior setter Monica Lui, Nathan Hale senior middle blocker Dara Oguara, Ingraham junior middle blocker Kami Jordan and Ingraham junior libero Vy Huynh.

Kamry Adams and Deauna Johnson of Cleveland made honorable mention along with Franklin's Kelly Duong and Julie Dao, Ingraham's Sarah Leland and Kayla Groby and Nathan Hale's Sophie Mandell and Hallie Lee.

We encourage our readers to comment. No registration is required. We ask that you keep your comments free of profanity and keep them civil. They are moderated and objectionable comments will be removed.