Holly Brown
Chicken Pot Pie is a hearty and delicious mid winter dinner that's easy and fun to make.

Holly Brown: Mid winter dinners are both easy and delicious

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you think about planning a winter meal? Limited vegetable selections? Hot soup? Hearty stews? Creamy, cheesy comfort food? Or, all of the above? This time of year, we crave meals that warm us up on the inside when it’s cold on the outside. Ironically, many of us are also mindful about eating healthfully and light this time of year, hoping to balance out the indulgent parties we enjoyed during the holidays.

The good news is you can have it both ways. The best winter dinners are easy, hearty, and healthy. One-pot meals like Chicken Pot Pie, Chile Verde, Cajun Dirty Rice with Red Beans and Chicken, or Grilled Vegetable Couscous are all excellent choices for meal planning this time of year; especially if you’re busy getting back into your pre-holiday routine, and don’t have a lot of time to plan, shop, and cook. One-pot meals are easy to prepare, can be made in advance, and they make delicious leftovers.

Winter dinners can include everything from ethnic inspired ingredients like linguica and saffron, to Italian lamb ragout, and spicy Baked Ziti. Spicy dishes that include ingredients like chilies and peppers are great choices, because they’re full of the naturally warming compound, Capsaicin. Capsaicin raises body temperature, decreases appetite and speeds metabolism. Even if chilies and peppers aren’t part of your recipe, you can add hot sauce, chili sauce, or black pepper to enjoy the natural benefits of spicy food.

Whether you prefer savory or spicy, TheBrownLounge.com has one-pot meals you’ll enjoy cooking and eating. They’re easy to make, and yummy to serve. Best of all, these easy winter dinners will warm you on the inside when it's cold on the outside. 

Cheers! Holly Brown
Publisher, WebTV and Radio Host of TheBrownLounge.com

One-Pot Winter Dinners from TheBrownLounge.com http://thebrownlounge.com/menu-plans/

Chicken Pot-Pie http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/chicken-pot-pie/

Grilled Vegetable and Couscous Salad http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/grilled-vegetable-couscous-salad/

Baked Ziti with a Twist http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/baked-ziti-with-a-twist/

Chile Verde http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/chile-verde/

Cajun Dirty Rice, Red Beans, and Chicken http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/cajun-dirty-rice-red-beans-and-chicken/

Shepherd’s Pie
http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/shepherds-pie/

Saffron Pasta Con Queso Manchego http://thebrownlounge.com/recipe/saffron-pasta-con-queso-manchego/

We encourage our readers to comment. No registration is required. We ask that you keep your comments free of profanity and keep them civil. They are moderated and objectionable comments will be removed.