Sportswatch: For the week of June 29-July 5

Sports events worth keeping an eye on

By Tim Clinton

Little League
District 7 All-Stars

District 7 All-Star Little League action continues this week, with the Juniors provisional championship scheduled for 6 p.m. Wednesday at the PacWest fields located between Burien and SeaTac. The if necessary game is at 9 a.m. Thursday.
Winners bracket finals for the age 9-10 and 10-11 groups are also at 6 p.m. Wednesday at the same location, with loser's bracket games at 6 p.m. Thursday and loser's bracket finals at 6 p.m. Friday. The first championships are at 9 a.m. Saturday with the 10-11 if necessary game at 9 a.m. Sunday and the 9-10 if necessary game at 10 a.m. Sunday.
The Seniors tournament starts at 6 p.m. Friday between host PacWest and South Highline National, with the same two teams tangling at 9 a.m. Saturday for the championship with the if necessary game at 9 a.m. Sunday.
Majors tournament action will be held at the Bar-S complex in West Seattle starting at 1 p.m. Saturday with South Highline National playing West Seattle and PacWest playing Seattle Central.

More ›

Evergreen earns boys soccer sportsmanship award

By Tim Clinton

Evergreen earned the Seamount League boys soccer Team Sportsmanship Award this past spring, even though the other top awards went to Lindbergh.

The Eagles won the Seamount League title, had junior forward Alex Kirtsov named as the Athlete of the Year and Ryan Johnson as the Coach of the Year.

Evergreen also had junior midfielder Kyle Bernd named to the first team.

Landing on the first team from Kennedy Catholic were senior defender Griffin Matthews and junior forward Aaron Rosel, while junior defender Arun Karma and junior forward Jose Esquivel were named from Foster.
Junior defender Pedro Castro of Highline and senior midfielder Ever Palma of Tyee also made the first team.
Other choices by the Seamount League boys soccer coaches were senior defender Hector Cervantes of Hazen, senior forward Reyes Garcia of Hazen, junior midfielder Ethan Kem of Hazen, sophomore goalkeeper Matthew Evetts of Lindbergh, senior defender Tim Reitz of Lindbergh, junior midfielder James Farrell of Lindbergh and senior midfielder Zach Hasson of Renton.

More ›

Kennedy coach lands top tennis honor

By Tim Clinton

Ryan Fike of Kennedy Catholic was named as the Seamount League girls tennis Coach of the Year after leading the Lancers to the team title this spring.

Hazen junior Misa Takami was honored as the Athlete of the Year by the league's coaches, while the Team Sportsmanship award went to Renton.

Joining Takami on the first team were freshman Ana Rios of Foster, senior Maddie Lu of Kennedy, sophomore Lauren Jergens of Kennedy, senior Jacqueline Kemp of Highline, senior Cressa Terrado of Tyee, junior Aileen Nguyen of Foster, senior Corisa Leon of Renton, junior Xiuhua Wu of Renton and junior Andressa Chan of Hazen.
Making the second team from Kennedy were senior Avery Corcoran and sophomore Lily Olson, while other second team choices included junior Cora Padilla of Foster, freshman Stella Fosberg of Highline and senior Tuyen Tran of Tyee.

Also making the second team were sophomore Brigget Lee of Hazen, senior Yoon Manivahn of Renton, senior Nafely Heng of Renton, senior Ysena Cruz of Renton and junior Kate Hebbeler of Lindbergh.

More ›